Smashed Black Beans

So after lots of debating with myself this morning, I have decided to go ahead and post my smashed black beans recipe for you all to enjoy! ::WEEEEEEE::

Anyways if you do decide to make this, I suggest you pair it with a mexican dish. I stupidly made it with a garlic and lemon roasted pork tenderloin as well as roasted baby potatoes and it was a huge clash. I do not know what I was thinking! Oh wait I do… The beans were sitting in my pantry collecting dust and I figured waste not, want not. Lol.

My roommate Dave’s mother thought I was a vegetarian for the longest time so when ever he would visit, she would send him home with cans upon cans of beans! Any kind you could imagine, we had it! Oh, wait… yup they are all still in there! I will be honest, they do come in handy when we have people over and I make something like black bean and corn salsa, or bean dip but what I have used thus far still hasn’t made a dent in our supply haha!

Well let’s get back on track here…..

Ingredients

2 Tbsp Good Olive Oil

2 Tbsp Water

1 Tsp Lemon or Lime Juice

Fresh Cilantro; minced

4 Garlic Cloves; minced

1 Half Red Onion; minced

1 – 15 oz Can Back Beans (or Kidney Beans works well too)

Salt & Pepper

So here is what you do… Drain and rinse the black beans.

Smash and mince your garlic coves, chop and mince your onion, then finely chop the cilantro.

In a good-sized skillet heat olive oil, then saute garlic for 1 minute over medium heat.

Stir in the red onions and saute for another couple of minutes until they are translucent.

Next you will stir in the black beans and let them do their magic in the skillet.

Ok, so once they have been cooking in the skillet for a couple of minutes, take your lemon juice and water then stir that in the bean mixture. The beans should be very soft so start mushing them with the back of your spoon. When done they should look like this

All that is left is to season them with salt and pepper as well as cilantro! Yay, you are done!

(I didn’t add cilantro to the beans in the picture because I didn’t have any on hand… I know I am always so unprepared!)

Leave a Reply

