White Bean Dip with Homemade Pita Chips

Well, I don’t know about you, but I love chips and dip! I definitely resort to them when I have a huge case of the munchies… but always feel über guilty about it afterwards. I have some great news to share with you all… I finally found a better for you and heart healthy alternative to all of our munchies related problems! Yay!

This recipe is really simple and only takes a little over 20 minutes to put together! I stumbled upon this while watching a show on the Food Network years ago, but never thought to try it until recently… I am glad that I did! Not only did i score a great snack that the roommates FREAKING LOVED, but I also put some of the beans from our stash in the pantry to some good use! *And no, it still didn’t make a dent in our supply.

Note: To make this recipe even more healthy, use whole wheat pita in place of regular pita bread like I did! They taste just as good, if not better! Also You don’t have to stick with the herbs I seasoned the pita chips with…. feel free to explore with different seasonings of your own choice! The possibilities are endless darlings!

Dip Ingredients

1- 15 oz Can of Cannellini Beans; drained and rinsed

1/3 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil; a good quality brand because you can really taste the flavors of the oil in the dip

1/4 Cup Fresh Curley Parsley

2 Tbsp Fresh Lemon Juice

2 Cloves of Garlic; smashed and minced

Salt and Pepper

Pita Chips Ingredients

4 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Tsp Dried Oregano

Salt and Pepper

6 Pitas

 

Drain and rinse your beans and parsly!

Next take a food processor and add the beans, parsley, lemon juice and oil, garlic to the work bowl.

If you don’t have a food processor then you can just mash the beans, mince the parsley and garlic, then combine the ingredients well! Where there is a will, there is a way!

Season with salt and pepper then pulse until coarsly chopped and blended.

 

Scoop the beans out into a small serving bowl.

Next you will take your pita bread and cut them in half. (Note: I found it easiest stacking them and cutting them all at once)

Cut each pita half into four wedges so you get 8 wedges out of each pita.

Next, I used the bag the pita came in to shake the pita wedges in olive oil, oregano, salt, and pepper.

A large Tupperware will work better, but my large Tupperware was occupied at the time so I had to be resourceful haha. XD

 

After they are evenly coated, bake at 400 in the oven on a single layer in a cookie sheet.

They should only take 8-10 minutes until they are slightly toasted.

Remove from oven and place in a bowl to serve alongside the white bean dip!

Caution: Extremely yummy and addicting!

See It even makes Saki smile!!! Happiness overload!!!!

One thought on “White Bean Dip with Homemade Pita Chips”

  1. You really out did yourself! That looks very delicious! I’m making it this week! Also, I can’t believe Saki smiles like that!

Leave a Reply

