Homemade Roasted Garlic Hummus

So I am apparently on a homemade pita chip rampage and have this constant urge to make more! Last night I thought I would try my hand at a Homemade Roasted Garlic Hummus and it would be a perfect excuse to make more! Now that’s using my head! So today after work I headed to the grocery store for more whole wheat pita bread and to see if they carried Tahini. While they do sell Tahini, but I am a little too cheap to purchase a small jar of it for an arm and a leg to only use on the occasions that I make hummus. So with that said, I improvised! Yes, you may now call me the Queen of Improvising because apparently I am a GENIUS!

Wiki defines Tahini as “a paste made from ground, hullen sesame seeds used in North African, Greek, Turkish, and Middle Eastern cuisine. East Asian tahini is made from unhulled seeds. It is served as a dip on its own or as a major component of hummus, baba ghanoush, and halva.”

So in a nutshell, it is a paste made of sesame seeds that can either be hulled or unhulled. If it’s a paste, can’t I just make a paste out of something else that’s thick and hearty to substitute it with?

Pssssssh…. I have researched a bit because I was very sad that my hummus might be a flop… then lo and behold I find numerous resources that tahini is more for texture and binding property to the hummus, rather than a huge flavor thing, so I decided to make the hummus with roasted garlic! Why am I comparing roasted garlic to a sesame paste? Because after you roast it and let it cool, it turns to a paste when you apply pressure with a fork or spoon, silly! Thats 5 gold stars for even thinking of something like that! Oh and by the way, the hummus tasted exactly like Delicious Sabra Hummus!

Ingredients

1- 15 oz Can of Chickpeas or Garbanza Beans

6 Cloves Garlic; roasted in olive oil

2 Tsp Cumin; ground

1 Pinch of Chilli Powder

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/4 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 of a Lemon; juiced

2 Green Onions; only the green ends sliced for garnish

Pita Chips (The recipe is a few post back), Crackers, or pretzels to dip!

So initially you need to drain and rinse your chickpeas or garbanza beans…

Take your cloves of garlic and roast them in a ramkin in the oven at 400 submerged in 1/4 cup olive oil until tender or 10-15 minutes, or wrapped in aluminum foil with a drizzle of olive oil for the same amount of time.

(Before roasting)

(This is after roasting… see the tenderness! They should practically pop right out of their shells!)

If you used a ramkin because you lack aluminum foil like I do, reserve the oil from roasting the garlic and to add to the ingredients in the food processor. If you are classy and used foil on the other hand, just add 1/4 c olive oil and don’t bother reserving what is left over in the foil.

Now that the beans are all clean and the garlic is roasted, add them into the work space in your food processor! Add the cumin, chilli powder, salt, lemon juice, and olive oil.

Pulse until blended well and spoon into a serving bowl!

  

Next, slice up your scallions and sprinkle them on top!

 

Tada!

BTW Saki is going through a laser pointer withdrawal…

He apparently has been on it all day and by the looks of things I will be up all night!

Oh boy!

One thought on “Homemade Roasted Garlic Hummus”

Leave a Reply

