Garlic & Thyme Roasted Chicken

So I promised I would post something awesome and this is what I came up with so far. It’s not just this though, I promise there will be much more amazingness coming up soon! Anyways, this is always my fav version of roasted chicken. Something about the thyme and garlic combined does it for me! It just smells like home! I actually just learned as well that if you save the pan juices and make some magic on the stove top with it, it is called a “jus” and it amazing with it! Mind=Blown!

Anyways, tonight I paired this with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes as well as Lemon & Garlic Roasted Asparagus… my favorite! I will also post those recipes as well!

Oh and on another note, the reason for me not posting the last few nights is because Mikey has still been working the night shifts for Palmer Paving and the roommates have not really been home for dinner so it has just been me. Although I did take some pictures of what I do for myself when that is the case so you all can laugh at me! Haha that will also follow the posts from tonight! Well I guess, on with the show!

Ingredients

Whole Chicken

6-8 Garlic Cloves; whole

Fresh Sprigs of Thyme

1/2 Lemon; sliced (optional)

4 Tbsp Unsalted Butter

Salt & Pepper

Butchers Twine

First things first, rinse and pat dry the while chicken (don’t forget to remove the giblets or whatever that nasty stuff in the cavity is)

Now, taking your butchers twine, raise and secure the two legs together. I tend to do it so that it bends the wings back and arches the chicken up a bit then criss-cross the twine in the center off its back and then up and arround the ankles. Sorry that sounds confusing, google how to do this if you are unsure how to do so.

 

Once you have you have the chicken all tied up, place it in a roasting pan separate the skin gently from the meat of the breast to create “pockets to slip your herbs in” Do this carefully as not to tear it and tuck a few sprigs of thyme in.

After they are neatly tucked into the skin, rub the chicken with the butter.

Season with a generous pinch of salt and pepper then scatter another handful of thyme sprigs around the pan. Take your whole peeled cloves of garlic and do so with that as well!

Once this is done, take another handful of thyme and place it in the cavity of the chicken (or fill with stuffing, either or) along with another clove or two of garlic and the lemon slices.

Roast in the oven preheated at 375 for 90 minutes or until the internal temperature reads 180 at the thickest part, and the juices run clear.

Next, if you want to make the jus just remove the chicken after it has rested for 10 minutes and transfer onto a platter.

Turn a burner on to high heat and bring the juces to a boil after stiring in 1/4 cup water. Allow this to simmer for a few minutes while scrapping up the browned pieces on the pan. Remove from heat and pour into a serving bowl to serve along side the chicken!

 

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe as much as I did!

4 thoughts on “Garlic & Thyme Roasted Chicken”

  1. I just want to mention I am very new to blogs and certainly loved your blog site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You really come with awesome writings. Cheers for sharing with us your web site.

  2. Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your web site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a perfect web-site.

Leave a Reply

