Homemade Chicken Salad

So here is the thing, I LOVE Chicken Salad. I love it with an almost unhealthy passion. I can eat it every day, all day and not get sick of it in the least bit! I used to watch my mother like a hawk whenever she would make this with the left over roasted chicken from the night before. It never failed… I could always guess when she would roast a chicken that it would either be chicken salad or chicken soup the next afternoon! Now that I am older and on my own, you could say like mother like daughter, because I have followed her lead and do the same today! Waste not, want not right?

Although the only difference is that I dont put the chicken carcass out on the back porch for the stray cats in my area because I am in the middle of the woods so I would have more of a bear/raccoon/opossum issue than I already do! Lastnight something big apparently liked my cooking because it knocked over our trash cans infront of the house and went to town! Not good!

Anyways here is how I make my chicken salad!

Ingredients

1 Whole Chicken (From last nights dinner) OR 1 Package of Chicken Breast

4 Ribs of Celery

1/2 Purple Onion

1/4 Cup Helmans Light Mayonaise

Salt & Pepper

So we start by taking the chicken carcass OR your chicken breast and putting them in a large pot.

 

Fill the pot with water until it covers the chicken. If you are using chicken breast, it is called poaching which this may help “Poaching is particularly suitable for delicate food, such as eggs, poultry, fish and fruit, which might easily fall apart or dry out. For this reason, it is important to keep the heat low and to keep the poaching time to a bare minimum, which will also preserve the flavor of the food.” -Wiki

Anyways, place the pot onto the stove and simmer for about an hour or until the meat is falling off the bone! (If it is chicken breast you are using, the poach until the chicken is cooked throughly and is no longer pink in the center.)

 

So once this is done, pour the chicken into a strainer to cool, unless you plan on saving the chicken stock which in that case just pour into a mason jar and preserve it as you normally would.

While it cools, spend some time with you dapper little kitty!

Until he shoots lazer beams at you… then back away…. slowly…

Now take the carcass and seperate the meat into a seperate bowl. You may want to use a fork but to be honest I did until I got impatient and used my hands… that crap takes FOREVER unless you man handle it!

Be sure to tear the meat into small pieces unless you used chicken breast, then you can just dice the meat into your preferable sizes!

Next rinse your celery and go to town chopping it coarsly as well as your purple onion!

  

 

YAY! Now that all of the chopping is done, add it to the chicken in the bowl and toss with the mayonaise, salt, and pepper!

Voila!

Leave a Reply

