Chicken Scampi

 Sooooo… what do to when you have had a long and hard Monday and just don’t want to go to the grocery store or do anything fancy smancy for that matter? Well I came home from work to look in the pantry, look in the fridge, look in the pantry, look in the fruit bowl, check my Facebook, look in the pantry like something would magically appear within the last-minute, eyed the evil-looking tomato that way just about to spoil (evil tomato),…. then had and epiphany!

Well here is how it went… 1/2 of a purple onion in the food crisper, 1 evil tomato in the fruit bowl, a chunk of parmesan cheese in the meat/cheese drawer, a box of pasta in the pantry, a head of garlic, butter, WINE, and olive oil… Now what is in the freezer….. A PACKAGE OF CHICKEN BREAST! Now I realize I have the fixings for an amazing Chicken Scampi without having to run out to the grocery store!!!!

:::SCORE:::

Ingredients

1 Package Chicken Breast

1 Tomato

1/2 Purple Onion

4-5 Cloves Garlic

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter

3 Tbsp White Wine

2 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1 Tbsp Parsley

1 Box Pasta (Preferably linguine or fettuccine but I only had ziti and this was making dinner with what I had right? Lol)

Ok it has been a long day so bottoms up wine-o!

Ok so now that is all settled, get to chopping your onion very finely, slice and dice your tomato discarding the seeds and liquid, and mince your garlic.

Next you are going to slice your chicken up and sprinkle with salt and pepper. (I decided half way through that I wanted to make it into already bite sized pieces so while it was just about finished I started slicing it up… don’t do what I did and slice it up to begin with! Makes things much smoother! Haha)

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook your pasta as directed.

Heat butter and olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet and once it is melted stir in your onion and garlic. Cook until soft and fragrant.

Add your chicken and cook on each side for about 4 minutes or until no longer pink in the center.

Ok so this is where I decided to slice my chicken up into bite sized pieces. Pick one or the other or else you risk drying your chicken out, I got lucky this time but whose to say I will get lucky again next time!!!!

Add your tomatoes, parsley, lemon juice, and white wine to the skillet and heat throughly for about 2 minutes.

Okay, so after this has been simmering for 2 minutes drain your pasta.

Pour the chicken mixture over the pasta and toss well.

Now that part is done, take about 4 Tbsp of freshly grated parmesan cheese and sprinkle it on top of the pasta.

YAY Now you can make yourself a plate and enjoy the fruits of your labor while you drown in your bottle of wine reflecting of the days many hardships!

:::WEEEEEEEEE:::

Lol I swear I was being sarcastic so don’t take that seriously… it was a good day! Just very long!

Now on a lighter note…. Here is my dapper little lover Saki being as cute and lovey as ever!

Oh and incase you didn’t notice…. he shoots laser beams….

Fin…

2 thoughts on “Chicken Scampi”

  1. Hi:) I’m Bevs daughter, she told me to check out your blog, cook on girl:) and more importantly-keep the vino flowing:) ! There is some yuuummy looking stuff on there – mom is already pushing the terriaky chicken on me, she loves you:) Keep it up! And – so what if you are on your own some nights.. time to perfect your craft for when everyone is home right? It’s all in how you think about it:)

Leave a Reply

