Baked White Bean Spread (Cannellini Beans)

So now that I have finally posted tonight’s dinner after a week-long hiatus (sorry, wasnt cooking much… just kind of putting around the house and yard gathering and decorating for the season with stuff I found out side… there will be more on this later, I promise!) But here is something that I had made for Cait and myself earlier this afternoon.

I am apparently on a rampage for the perfect white bean spread for fresh and toasty french bread… and I think I may have found what I was looking for! This is adapted from Martha Stewart but I made quite a few changes and additions of my own. Initially her recipe was made with rosemary which I thought would be delish, but I didn’t have any so I improvised with oregano and parsley. Also I added lemon for more of a punch and omitted the few table spoons of water because of the lemon juice instead. Anyways here is a run down on this amazing creation!

Ingredients

15 Ounce Can of Cannellini Beans

Juice of 1 Lemon

3 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil; divided

1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

3 Large Cloves of Garlic; minced

1/2 Yellow Onion; coarsely chopped

1/2 Tbsp Oregano

1/2 Tbsp Parsley

1 Tsp Kosher Salt

1 Tsp Black Pepper

2 Tbsp Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

2 Tbsp Bread Crumbs

Drain and rinse the cannellini beans well with cool water.

Heat 1 Tbsp oil in a pan over medium high heat and saute the minced garlic as well as onion until they are translucent and soft. (about 6-8 minutes)

Now its a party!

Next stir in your oregano, parsley, salt & pepper.

Next spoon the herbed onion and garlic mixture into your food processor.

Add cannellini beans, vinegar, lemon juice, & 1 tbsp olive oil.

Pulse until smooth (sorry my pictures are so bright but if I don’t use the flash you can’t see anything… frownie face…)

Spoon into an oven safe bowl such as a ramkin or a small casserole dish and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350.

In a separate bowl combine bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, a pinch of oregano and parsley with 1 Tbsp olive oil.

Spoon bread crumb mixture evenly over the top of the bean puree and bake for 20 minutes in the center of the oven, or until the topping is golden brown.

Next slice up a loaf of fresh french bread and lightly brush both sides with extra virgin olive oil.

Season the tops with a sprinkle of kosher salt and oregano.

Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes or until nice and lightly toasted.

Serve spread over the toasted bread slices 🙂

I hope you all get a chance to try this…. I can not wait to make it again but I am thinking of bringing it to my uncles Halloween party this coming weekend rather than the usual buffalo chicken dip so we shall see what everyone else thinks then!

Leave a Reply

