Homemade Meatball Grinders

So I am going to be completely honest and try to have a heart to heart with you for a second…

I was never a fan of meatballs or even meatball grinders growing up.

::::GASP::::

Its okay though, tastes change as you get older and I love them now so all is right in the world!

Anyways I am pretty sure I have perfected my italian meatball recipe to the point where I feel comfortable and confident that you will all love it just as much as my roommates and myself do!

Let me know if you give it a go and what your thoughts on it are!

Ingredients

1.5 Lbs Ground Beef (turkey works just as well)

2 Large Eggs

1/2 Cup Dried Italian Bread Crumbs (a HEAPING cup)

1/3 Cup Purple Onion; minced

2 Cloves Garlic; smashed & minced

1 Tsp Oregano

1 Tsp Basil

1 Tsp Parsley

Pinch of Red Pepper Flakes

1 Cup Parmesan Cheese; freshly grated

1 Package Hoagie Rolls

Tomato Sauce (whatever is your favorite, pick your own poison)

I am going to tell you right now… we are going to get our hands dirty, really dirty.

Dont say I didn’t warn you…

Crack and add your eggs to the ground beef.

Next add your bread crumbs, onions, garlic, and herbs.

You remember when I said we were going to get our hands dirty?

Well now is the time to dig in and start mixing the ingredients with your hands and make sure they are all combined well.

This means no bread crumbs or anything stuck to the bottom of the bowl, mix it all! Lol

Preheat the oven to 350.

Next we will form the meatballs making them about the size of a golf ball.

Line them up on a baking pan leaving at least 1/2″ space in between each meatball.

I yielded 20 meatballs with 1.5 lbs ground beef.

If you make them any larger than a golf ball then the baking time will increase so keep that in mind when it comes to baking them.

So bake for 30-35 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 150-160.

Take your favorite tomato sauce and heat over medium low heat.

Once your meatballs are finished baking, transfer them into the sauce and simmer for 10 minutes, or until the sauce is heated throughly.

Place the hoagie rolls on a baking sheet and sprinkle with a pinch of the grated parmesan cheese.

Broil on high for a couple of minutes on the top oven rack to toast the bread slightly.

Next top each hoagie roll with 4 meatballs and a ladle of tomato sauce.

Then top with a handful of grated parmesan cheese for each grinder and a pinch of red pepper flakes.

Broil one last time for about a minute or until the cheese has melted and serve!

Caution: Fork and knife are a must!

Well my majestical unicorns, I am beginning to think that not only do I have it bad for vino but comfort food as well!

This whole time I have been typing out this post, I have been so stuffed that I had to fight to keep my eyes open!

Mmmmmmmm Sleeeeeeeeeep…

Well maybe one more glass of wine and another chapter of my book then sleep…. 😉

Ciao!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Meatball Grinders”

  1. AWESOM recipe Sarah, I love making meatball grinders with the left over sauce and meatballs and sweet sauage. But i like how you incorparate the grated cheese in with the mix. HUM sounds so good will try next time and get back to ya. Great job Sarah keep them coming. Love you Uncle Bill and Aunty Rita

  2. Just curious.. I get a lot of “flack” about the fact that I rarely measure anything while I cook.. do you? Or do you just guestimate it for your readers?? Also, have you ever tried pan frying them on high heat first, then finishing them in the oven? It gives them a nice “crust”.. Yum! I’m glad you saw the light & now love the meatballs.. now you make me want to chow a grinder.. Thank u for that! :))

    1. I def guestimate too unless its a new recipe I am trying for the first time. When you cook a lot eyeballing measurements comes naturally after a while lol. Brutish have heard of pan frying the meatballs first but only recently so I plan of doing that the next time I make them! 😉

Leave a Reply

