Homemade Galumpkis

So obviously I am very Polish and love love love Galumpkis. I think everyone loves them and that every Polish lady needs to know how to make them! There are many different variations and it all really depends on how you were raised to eat them. Many people I know make theirs with a tomato sauce of some sort but I was raised with them being seasoned with G. Washington seasoning and salted pork chunks.

Now in this picture, I made Kanapkis with them as a sort of appetizer. I will post more about them later on as well as a recipe that will blow your mind šŸ™‚

Ingredients

1 Lb Ground Beef

2 Cups Rice; uncooked

4 Cups Water

1 Large Onion;Ā coarsely chopped

8 Packets of G. Washington Golden Seasoning

1 Head of Cabbage

Woah, couldn’t get a good pic so this should suffice!

Well first things first my friends, remove the core from the cabbage with a sharp knife.

Submerge in a LARGE pot of water and boil until tender (my cabbage took about 45 minutes, it depends on the size really)

Next we will brown our ground beed in a large sauce pan.

Once browned, drain fat and spoon beef into a large mixing bowl.

Add chopped onions and saute for a few minutes or untill tender.

Once done, mix the ground beef back with the onions and combine well with the G. Washington seasoning. Heat for another minute then spoon it all back to the large mixing bowl.

Next we will cook the rice according to directions. If you don’tĀ have them by you, bring 4 cups of water to a boil and stir in 2 cups dry white rice. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until tender.

While you do that, try not to break one of your favorite measuring cups like me…

It is down right depressing and I now feel like a small piece of my heart is missingĀ Ā  šŸ˜¦

Once the rice is done, mix it with the ground beef well.

Drain the cabbage and allow to cool in a strainer.

Next set up a good working area for rolling the Galumpkis…

Line a baking pan with the outer leaves from the cabbage and this is so that they do not burn to the pan and also prevents the rolls from drying out.

Next take a leaf and lay it out on a plate then place a heaping spoon full of the rice mixture into the center.

Roll from the base up and tuck the sides in like you would a burrito… best way to explain it lol.

Line up the rolls in the cabbage lined baking pan and cover with foil.

Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes or until tender.

(Usually I would scatter salted pork chunks about the pan for extra flavor but I could not find any in the meat section of the grocery store but they came out just as good. Also if you are one of thoseĀ people who like tomato sauce on their Galumpkis then now is the time to pour it over them and bake. Just an FYI)

bon appetit

One thought on “Homemade Galumpkis”

  1. Looking good…just what I needed….I need to make my first batch, probably next week, now that I saw your recipe and pics!!!! Thanks Sarah…I’ll let ya know how they come out!!,

Leave a Reply

