Tomato Basil Bisque

I want to apologize for being very negligent with my blog for the past week but it happens and I plan to more than make up for it tonight! I hope you all enjoy!

I was never big on tomato soup until one day during my lunch hour at the bank I decided to go to the Sturbridge Coffee House when they were still next door to Kaizen. I don’t know if any of you are familiar with SCH but they have the most amazing menu and options that it is often difficult for me to decide! Well to make a long story short I got their soup of the day which was a Tomato Basil Bisque with a Yummy Humus Sandwich. BEST DECISION EVER!

Ever since then I have tried and tried again to duplicate their bisque and never got it right! Well I eventually stopped trying and stumbled upon a couple of recipes that I thought looked very suitable and yummy. Not knowing which one to try first, I decided to combine the best of the two and this is the yumminess I came up with!

As you can see I paired the bisque with a grilled basil tomato and cheese sandwich and I must say this is my comfort food of choice!

Ingredients

4 Tbsp Butter

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Onion; roughly chopped

3 Tbsp Freshly Chopped Basil

1 Tbsp Fresh Thyme Leaves

4 Cloves Minced Garlic

4 Cups Chicken Broth

4 Oz Cream Cheese

1 Cup Flour

2 Tbsp Tomato Paste

1 15 Oz Can Whole Plum Tomatoes; drained

So first you are going to saute your onions in the olive oil over medium heat until they are translucent then add the garlic and continue sauteing until fragrant or 2 minutes.

Once they are nice and happy in your sauce pan, brace yourself with some wine, then stir in the butter until melted. Stir in the basil, thyme, tomato paste, plum tomatoes, 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth (were reserving 1/2 for our roux with the flour).

After you bring everything to a simmer over medium heat, stir in the cream cheese.

Ok so we will simmer for a bit longer and pray hurricane Sandy does not make us lose power!

In the meantime we will use a small pan to start the roux.

Add reserved 1/2 cup of chicken broth then whisk in the flour.

Combine the roux to the saucepan containing your bisque that has been simmering for about 15 minutes.

All that is left is to pulse everything in a food processor but lo and behold we lost power right as I was about to remove the sauce pan from the stove! Talk about luck!

Anyways I made due and just mashed the tomatoes and broke everything up really well which is just as good given the circumstances. Lol.

ENJOY

Leave a Reply

