Chicken with a Creamy White Wine and Garlic Sauce Over Fettuccine

So I have a bit of a problem with pasta…

Specifically pasta with creamy sauces….

Carbs…. Mmmmmmm…

How I love carbs….

Lol I am sorry I can’t help it. I know lots of you watch your figure and what you eat but I can not resist and I am comfortable in my own skin. I am happy, healthy, and am not depriving myself!

I will be damned if I stop making crazy pasta sauces by scratch, and I am proud of them! If you love pasta and creamy sauces then please continue reading! If you are offended by the sight of carbs then please, by all means click the back button and find something else that is more to your liking. I am not offended either way but thank you for coming to see what is new.

Anyways my big thing is wine sauces. While I love regular white wine sauces, sometimes I need a creamy and rich sauce. This is when I turn to my trusted Pinot Gorgio and Cream. I went on a streak and would make this or some other variation every week but would have a habit of not simmering my wine sauce enough and it would taste and smell too much of alcohol. Dont make the same mistake I used to make on the regular! Have patience and let the alcohol simmer out! Once you can barely smell it is when you know to add your cream! I am telling you, please take my advice, otherwise the whole dish is ruined!

This recipe is simple enough and only takes about a half hour to execute. The ingredients are very basic especially if you are a coffee drinker and normally have cream in your house. It is great with low-fat, regular, or heavy cream and you don’t really notice the difference that much if at all! I say give it a whirl and you will probably love it. Another thing to think about is that if you like mushrooms, this is the perfect dish to make them with, just simmer them in the wine sauce and I promise they will be a great addition! As for me, I am not a fan of them so I obviously am not going to add them into tonight’s dinner. Well that’s enough rambling, I blame the Pinot!!!!

Ingredients

1 Box Fettuccine

1 Pkg Chicken Breast; Sliced thin

1 Cup Cream; Heavy, half and half, low-fat, etc. whatever cream you prefer. (I used heavy cream)

1 Cup Dry White Wine; Pinot Giorgio, Chardonnay, etc. (I used Pinot Giorgio because it have always been my #1 choice lol)

1 Tbsp Corn Starch & 1 Tbsp Cold Water; Combined

1 Large Shallot; Chopped

2 Cloves Garlic; Minced

1 Tsp Dried Basil

1 Tsp Dried Parsley

1 Tsp Dried Oregano

Salt & Pepper

3 Tbsp Olive Oil; 1 for seasoning chicken, 1 for pan frying chicken, and 1 for sauteing.

2 Tbsp butter; 1 for Pan frying chicken & 1 for sauteing.

Parmesan Cheese

So initially we need to rinse and pat the chicken breast dry.

After that I determined the best way to rub the chicken breast with olive oil and season is to pour 1 Tbsp olive oil on a plate and have another plate ready as pictured below.

So take the chicken and place it on top of the oil then turn over and sprinkle salt and pepper. Next place it oil and seasoned side down on the clean plate and season the opposite side with salt and pepper.

After all of the chicken is seasoned heat a sauce pan over medium high heat with 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp butter.

Swirl the pan to coat and once it is bubbling add the chicken. Be sure not to crowed the pan because if you do then the chicken will steam rather than sear and you want it to get a slight golden crust which will not happen otherwise.

Cook 3-5 minutes each side without disturbing.

I know you want to poke and prod it but if you so this is will not sear properly and may lose some of its juices resulting in a dry chicken breast 😦

Also start a large pot of water for you fettuccine and cook according to directions.

Once this chicken is done and no longer pink in the center, transfer onto a platter and cover with aluminum foil.

In the same pan over medium low heat swirl 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp butter until melted.

I know this is getting repetitive but bear with me!

Add the chopped shallots and garlic.

Saute 5 minutes or until translucent and staring to brown.

Increase the heat to medium and stir in 1 cup of white wine while scraping up the brown bits in the pan. This is called deglazing and if you have ever watched the creme franche episode of southpark it could very easily be comical… actually I recommend you YouTube it right now. You wont regret it but will never deglaze anything the same again…

Bring to a boil then allow to simmer out all the alcohol. This should take about 5-10 minutes or until you can no longer smell it.

After all the alcohol has evaporated it will have reduced by half… stir in corn starch and water mixture… if it has been sitting for a bit then give the mixture a stir before adding it to the wine sauce because it will have thickened up a bit at the bottom of the bowl.

The cornstarch acts as a thickener for the sauce and if at the end you feel it is too thick feel free to add 1 Tbsp of water to the sauce at a time. It all depends on your liking don’t forget so don’t feel guilty about making adjustments!

But below is a picture of what the wine sauce will reduce to once the corn starch is added.

Slowly stir in your cream and allow to thicken for 2 minutes or so while constantly stirring as not to burn the sauce to the bottom of your sauce pan!

DOSENT IT LOOK MAGESTICAL!!!!!

Stir in your oregano, parsley, and basil.

Once done, remove from heat.

Toss fettuccine with butter then pile a serving onto a plate. Top with a chicken breast and a laddel full of white wine sauce!

OR you can just toss the buttered pasta with the white wine sauce and top with a chicken breast.

Either way it is yummy and you musnt forget to dust with fresh parmesan cheese!

Well my little majestical unicorns that does it for tonight’s dinner… I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

