Brie en Croute (AKA Sarahs Leprechaun Gold)

 Oh-My-God

I just did a trial run on Saturday night for my Brie en Croute recipe I got from Paula Deen that I am planning on making for Thanksgiving at my uncle’s house. There are no words. Seriously, I can not even begin to describe how delicious this dish was. I am really at a loss for words!

The only thing I can suggest is that you make it for yourself and tell me what you think!

You try to put it into words and then I can be the one laughing at you!

But seriously this is a majestical invention that is a round of brie safely centered in a pastry crust topped with a buttery cinnamon mixture of chopped toasted walnuts and brown sugar then tied up like an edible and yummy satchel of leprechaun gold.

THAT IS MY DESCRIPTION AND I STAND BY IT!

Try it for yourself and then you seriously try to put it into words!

I dare you!

Total cost is maybe $13 and a total of 10 minutes of prep work and maybe 20 minutes in the oven!

You can’t beat that for leprechaun gold! (don’t judge my pet name for this amazing satchel of lovin)

Ingredients

8 Oz Brie Wheel

1 Frozen Pastry Sheet; there are normally 2 sheets per box and thaw out 1 sheet for about 40 minutes (DO NOT USE PHYLO)

Flour; for rolling

1 Egg; beaten

1/4 Cup Light Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup Chopped Walnuts

1 Tbsp Butter

1/8 Tsp Cinnamon

Apple Slices; for serving

Butchers Twine

So first things first… cut the top off of the brie wheel.

Dont ask questions… we do not question Paula Deen so just do it…

Next sprinkle flour over a flat surface for rolling the pastry puff out a bit larger.

So my dough is a bit awkward looking… that’s because it was thawing for a bit and I got a little carried away snapping pictures.

Yours wont look like this I am sure, its okay if it does but I am almost positive you wont be so negligent with it as I was…

Next center your brie on the dough.

Heat butter in a skillet.

Saute the chopped walnuts for 5 minutes over medium low heat.

Add cinnamon and continue sauteing for 2 minutes.

Remove the toasted walnuts from heat and allow to cool for a few minutes.

Next top the brie with walnuts.

Followed with brown sugar!

Then start gathering the corners up at the top.

Once you have all the sides gathered firmly tie them with the kitchen twine securing with a bow! 🙂

Transfer gently to a baking sheet.

Lightly beat your egg and brush all the exposed areas of your leprechaun gold with a pastry brush.

Bake in the oven at 375 for about 2o minutes or until perfectly golden all around!

Delish!

2 thoughts on “Brie en Croute (AKA Sarahs Leprechaun Gold)”

Leave a Reply

