Homemade Queso Dip

So as I said before, we LOVE Mexican food…

If you never noticed, Queso is a huge staple at any Mexican restaurant you may frequent.

I personally can’t get enough Queso and Tortillas (hence why I can never lose weight, try as I might….) so I took it upon myself to perfect my very own Queso Dip!

YAY!

While I am sad to say, I am not there yet…. but with enough patience and practice, I will be soon!

Here is a run down on how I make it….

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cup Montry Jack Cheese; shredded

1 1/2 Cup Cheddar Cheese; shredded

1- 4oz Can Diced Tomatoes with Green Chiles

1/2 Cup Half & Half

2 Cloves Garlic; minced

3 Jalapenos; diced (I suggest you use gloves ESPECIALLY if you wear contacts…. just a warning)

1/2 Onion; diced

1 Tbsp Flour

1 Tbsp Butter

1/4 Cup Sour Cream

1 Stalk of Green Onions (Scallions)

Salt & Pepper

Heat butter in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Heat garlic until fragrant (about 30 seconds) then whisk in flour.

The roux happened so fast I didn’t get any pictures, but allow it to bubble until golden brown, whisking often as not to burn it.

Add onions, jalepenos, salt and pepper, stirring to coat well.

Cook until it begins to brown, or about 6 minutes.

Add tomatoes with the chiles and cook another minute.

Pour in cream and stir well to combine.

Cook for another few minutes until evenly warmed then reduce heat to low.

Slowly stir in both cheeses.

Once cheese is all melted, stir in sour cream.

Top with sliced scallions and serve along with tortilla chips!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

