Creamy Chicken with Asparagus and Baby Bella Mushrooms

075

So this is something that I just kind of figured out for myself and surprisingly it actually came out very good! I just figured that I had sour cream, cream of celery soup, rice, and chicken tenders already so all I needed was just asparagus and mushrooms!

Kind of one of those “work with what you got” deals!

Anyone who knows me at all knows that I can not stomach mushrooms!

I went through a mushroom pizza faze thanks to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles when I was a kid and ate waaaaaay too much mushroom pizza for a small village. Ever since then, I can not stand them… but who wouldn’t feel that way after that tramatizing ordeal?!?!?

This my friends is a compromise! Lol

I am the only one in the house who feels that way about them so I of course decided to throw them in the mix and just eat around them.

I try to be a good roommate haha!

018

Ingredients

1 Lb Chicken; cubed

2 Cups Mushrooms; sliced

1 Bunch Asparagus; cut into 1″ pieces

1 Large Onion; coarsley chopped

1- 10 Oz Can Cream of Celery Soup

1/2 Cup Sour Cream

1 Cup Dry White Wine

Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper

Cooked Rice

020

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium high heat

022

Once the oil is hot, allow ghost hand to add the onions…

024

Then mushrooms.

027

Sautee for about 8 minutes or until they are very tender.

033

Next, ghost hand will drop the asparagus in the same sautee pan with the onion and mushroom mixture.

037

Toss well and allow to do its magic for about 5 minutes.

039

Doesnt that look yuuuumy? (Well, minus the mushrooms)

041

Next remove the vegetable mixture from the pan into a separate bowl.

045

Add cubed chicken to the same sautee pan over medium heat and cook until no longer pink (about 10 minutes or so, depending on the size of the cubed chicken)

046 048

And don’t forget to take a moment and thank sweet baby jesus for this amazing bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon you are drinking because without it, lord knows you would not get through the rest of the evening…

121

049

Okay so once the chicken is fully cooked, combine the vegetable mixture with the chicken in the same skillet.

053

055

Next we will add the white wine…

059

Sour cream…

060

Stir well…

062

Add the cream of celery soup…

063

Then salt and pepper.

067

Stir well again, and let thicken up for about 10 minutes while stirring occasionally.

073

I served this dish over steamed white rice but it would go very will with mashed potatoes, or even over cooked bow tie pasta!

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

