Penne and Roasted Asparagus Tossed with Balsamic Butter

DSCF6405

I came across this wonderful gem on Pintrest when an old classmate had pined it and I had been graced by its magical yumminess on my feed.

It was fait… What I loved the most about this fantastical concoction was that you could easily substitute the asparagus for a number of different roasted veggies and I cant wait to try it with broccoli!

Basically, this is from Food & Wine… they had a great presentation as I was sold from the first picture that had graced my computer screen.

The only thing was that there was a little bit of flack on the comments section with people saying that they didn’t like it because it “was not pretty” and they “don’t like balsamic vinegar”. While it was already a no-brainer for me, I couldn’t help but think to myself… “if you already know you do not like balsamic… why in the f- would you go through all the trouble to make this recipe?”

Sweet Baby Jesus they are so smart! And also, not all food is pretty! Just look at hummus, sweet sautéed onions, or even stuffing! Those are not pretty but I am sure that “mr/ms its not pretty” will eat those when put on their dinner plate!

The Beatles once said that “all you need is love” but I don’t always agree with them so I am going to go out on a limb and say sometimes you may also need to learn when to stfu otherwise you make your self seem a little less desirable.

Said the lady with the wine/food blog with more grammatical errors than a 1st grader… I guess I am kind of the pot and they are kind of the kettle…. Oh boy…

Ugggggggggh <End Rant>

DSCF6385

Ingredients

1 Lb. Penne

8 Tbsp. Butter

1 Bunch Asparagus; chopped into 1″ pieces

1/3 Cup + 2 Tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar

1 Tsp. Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper

1/3 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese; not the powdered parmesan, it wont melt and thicken up as needed.

DSCF6386

Preheat the oven to 400

Once I have all the asparagus chopped up, my albino ghost hand will toss them with the olive oil and a pinch of salt & pepper.

DSCF6387 DSCF6389 DSCF6390

Roast for about 15-25 minutes or until nice and tender.

Meanwhile, cook the penne according to directions.

DSCF6392 DSCF6393

DSCF6391

In a small sauce pan, bring the balsamic vinegar to a boil then whisk in the brown sugar while simmering on low. Continue to simmer on low for about 15 minutes or so, until it has reduce to about 3 tablespoons worth.

DSCF6397

Remove the asparagus from your oven and set aside.

DSCF6396

Drain the penne and toss with the butter.

DSCF6400

Next we will add the asparagus to the bowl with the pasta and toss well with the balsamic/brown sugar mixture.

DSCF6401

Toss well with your fresh grated parmesan cheese. The reason it has to be fresh grated and not the processed fine powdered parmesan is because the powdered stuff will not melt and thicken up the balsamic. Trust me when I say it will make a difference!

DSCF6403

Top with additional parmesan cheese and Voila!

DSCF6404

Leave a Reply

