Stuffed Mushrooms

935038_10201204460380148_417590285_n

So as you all may or may not remember, I have a love/hate relationship with mushrooms. In a nutshell, for those who don’t already know this, it all started when I went threw a mushroom pizza faze when I was much younger (probably around the age of 7) and now cant stand the texture. It bugs me out! I have been trying to get over this for sometime now and have come very far in my mushroom-phobia! I am willing to admit they make great appetizers (if you can get over the texture) and add a lot of depth to many different dishes! I used to make these stuffed mushrooms all of the time for friends but never actually had experienced them for myself until recently (as recent as April… I know I am a pansy).

I apologize for my horrible picture of the finished product…. I got a bit caught up in the hustle & bustle of what is my life and did not take one! I actually snagged this from a picture of a spread I made for a party at my house that my lovely sister Amy took! Thanks for having my back sis, its as if you knew!

IMG_0917

Ingredients

16oz Snowcap Mushrooms (Button Mushrooms)

1 Cup Italian Style Bread Crumbs

1/3 Cup Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

2-3 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 Garlic Cloves

Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 400.

IMG_0920

First wash your mushrooms (i know this is taboo with mushrooms but lets think here, where do they come from? exactly….) then remove the stems and set them aside for a later use.

IMG_0918

Mince garlic real fine then add it along with 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to your breadcrumbs.

IMG_0921

Take the (almost forgotten) stems and mince them up real finely as well….

IMG_0922

Keep mincing…..

IMG_0923

TADA! Now add those majestical morsels to the breadcrumbs!

IMG_0925

Next add the olive oil and season with salt and pepper to taste then combine well.

IMG_0926

I could just eat the stuffing and be happy….

IMG_0930

Then prepare a baking sheet with some of our beloved Pam Olive Oil Cooking Spray (I am in no way affiliated with Pam but am deeply in love with the stuff) and start stuffing the mushroom caps with the breadcrumb mixture.

IMG_0931

Yes, I know it is a messy job but I swear it is worth it!

Sprinkle with remaining parmesan cheese and be sure to drizzle a little bit of olive oil on the tops before baking. Bake at 400 for about 20-30 minutes (depends on the size of your mushrooms really) until they are golden in color and smell absolutely delicious!

935038_10201204460380148_417590285_n

One thought on “Stuffed Mushrooms”

Leave a Reply

