Cajun Homemade Creole Seasoning

IMG_2680

To say that I am a bit obsessed with Cajun cuisine is a tad of an understatement…

I have been going out of my way (quite frequently might I add) to get my hands on authentic blackened chicken, jambalaya, and gumbo recipes to name a few. I am so happy that my latest find just so happens to be a HUGE staple in Cajun dishes… And that would be a little something called “Creole Seasoning”.

Yes, I know they carry it at Big Y among other grocery stores… But I can assure you it is nothing like the homemade good stuff!

This beauty I found at:

http://www.crawfishcoofcentralflainc.com/Creole-Seasoning.html

Feel free to check them out, especially if you are in Florida! They are all about Cajun food selling crawfish, oysters, crab, and alligator among other things whole sale. They also advertize local Crawfish Boils, Festivals, etc. as well so again if you are from Florida, it sounds like they know how to have a good time 🙂

Now on with the Creole!

IMG_2671

Ingredients

2 Tbsp Kosher Salt

2 Tbsp Garlic Powder

2 1/2 Tbsp Paprika

1 Tbsp Black Pepper

1 Tbsp Cayenne Pepper

1 Tbsp Onion Powder

1 Tbsp Dried Thyme

1 Tbsp Dried Oregano

IMG_2674

Add all the ingredients in an air tight container such as a mason jar.

IMG_2677

Shake well to combine!

IMG_2678

I used my little food aid wand pulsar to break it down a bit more, so that there wouldn’t be big flakes of oregano or thyme shifting to the top of the jar when shaken.

IMG_2679

Store in an air tight container for up to 6 months.

IMG_2682

Look at that…. just look at it….

It is pure magic! 😉

5 thoughts on “Cajun Homemade Creole Seasoning”

Leave a Reply

