New England Steamers

IMG_3152

Look at those guys… I feel so horrible about this but I did it… I put them in the pot… and cooked them…

I owed Mikey and also made this for my own selfish needs (i need more diversity on my food blog and being a non-seafood-eating-person I tend to be lacking on the seafood category) Anyways because I have never made these before in my life i hopped onto my ever-trusty-google-machine and stumbled upon this recipe which seemed pretty much fool proof!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/new-england-steamers-recipe/index.html

Let the shenanigans begin!

IMG_3120

Ingredients

3 lbs Steamers

1 Celery Stock; quartered

1/4 Onion

1 Bay Leaf

Salt

Pepper

Butter

IMG_3137

Wile you soak your steamers in a large bowl of salted water to rid them of their sand and grossness drink some wine to give them a proper send off!

IMG_3138

Fill a large pot with 2 1/2 cups of water and toss in the onion, celery, and bay leaf.

IMG_3141

Add a heavy pinch of salt and black pepper.

While you wait for it to come to a boil, drink some more wine and have a hart to hart with your steamer clams….

IMG_3143

(Oh boy, do I really have to do this? Oh gosh, I have to put them in the pot! But they are still alive and I think that they kind of like me?!? Cant I just maybe keep them in a salt water tank? No? Oh gosh, I have to put you in the pot…)

IMG_3144

Okay, back to reality! Now that the water is boiling, gently put your friends in the pot…

IMG_3145

Try not to feel bad about this…

IMG_3146

Allow them to boil for 10-12 minutes or until they have all opened their shells.

IMG_3148

Reserve 1 cup of the broth (to clean them) and serve along side melted butter and some lemon slices.

IMG_3151

So that is it! And of coarse due to the fact that I don’t eat seafood, I just got a rotisserie chicken so I wouldn’t starve. XD

IMG_3153

Leave a Reply

