Orange Chicken over Jasmine Rice

IMG_3805

 

Orange chicken over Jasmine Rice…. Need I say anything more?

I made Cozze di Puglia for Mikey this evening and being the fact that I don’t eat seafood, I needed to throw something together for myself! I decided on Orange Chicken because A) I was in the mood for Mandarin cuisine and B) I had chicken that I needed to use before it went bad! Those reasons are enough right?

I got this recipe from http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/main-courses/tangy-orange-chicken-over-jasmine-rice/ and although it calls for 1/2 cup orange marmalade and 1/2 cup orange juice, I did not have any orange juice so I just doubled the amount of marmalade and it was perfectly fine.

I was extremely shocked with how good this came out and honestly, it is better than what I have had at some restaurants before in the past! I hope you all give this a try at least once if you love Mandarin food like myself, I promise you wont regret it.

IMG_3722

Ingredients

1 Pkg Chicken Tenders

1 Cup Flour

1 Cup Orange Marmalade

1/2 Cup Canola Oil

2 Tbsp Honey

2 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1 Tsp Ground Ginger

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

1 1/2 Cups Lightly Salted Water

3/4 Cups Jasmine Rice

IMG_3725

Cube your chicken….

IMG_3727

Add salt and pepper to the flour…

IMG_3728

And combine well with a metal whisk.

IMG_3729

Put your cubed chicken into a large Tupperware and add the seasoned flour. Snap the lid in place and give it a few good shakes so ensure that each piece is coated well.

IMG_3732

Perfection!

IMG_3733

Discard excess flour and set the chicken aside.

 

IMG_3734

Heat oil in a large saute pan over medium high heat       IMG_3738

Once oil is hot, add your chicken.

IMG_3741

 

Cook until golden on all sides and thoroughly cooked.

IMG_3754

Once done, remove chicken from oil and set aside.

 

IMG_3740

In a medium pot, add salted water and bring to a boil.

 

 

IMG_3745

Add jasmine rice and cook until tender.

IMG_3756

Meanwhile in the same saute pan you used for the chicken, add your orange marmalade…

IMG_3758

Soy sauce and honey…

IMG_3760

And finally ground ginger.

IMG_3762 

Stir well.  

IMG_3768

Simmer over medium low heat until thickened.

IMG_3769

Once the sauce has thickened, add the chicken back to the pan.

IMG_3772 

Toss well to evenly coat and turn the burner off.

IMG_3778

Allow to rest for a few minutes to thicken up some more then serve over jasmine rice!

IMG_3809

Top with green onions (scallions) to jazz things up a bit.

IMG_3808

I imagine that if you made this with steamed broccoli and tossed that in with the chicken and glaze it would be even better, I am going to have to try that the next time I make this!

IMG_3807

Ciao!

IMG_3806

 

Leave a Reply

