Homemade Queso Dip

 

 

IMG_4013

 

A while ago I had made a big ol’ batch of queso dip and put it up here on Spirits & Thyme. It was a big hit and everyone seemed to love it, until one day…. I deleted the pictures! ::GASP:: I know I know, I thought I was cleaning up my photo archive on my blog, but little did I know I was also deleting them from my posts! Its been about 8 months since that frightful day and I have finally taken it upon myself to make another ginormous batch of the holy stuff!

Adapted from http://whiskedfoodie.com/recipe/homemade-queso-dip/

IMG_3961

Ingredients

1 Tbsp Butter

1 Tbsp Flour

1/2 Small Onion; diced

1 Red Bell Pepper; diced

1 Green Bell Pepper; diced

2 Garlic Cloves; minced

1/2 Tsp Kosher Salt

1/2 Cup Milk

1 Roma Tomato; chopped

3 Cups Shredded Cheese; Cheddar and Jack varieties reccomended

1/4 Cup Sour Cream

IMG_3964

Chop your peppers….

IMG_3963

Onions…

IMG_3966

As well as garlic and tomato.

IMG_3970

Shred the cheese

IMG_3973

Melt butter in a medium stock pot over medium heat

IMG_3974

Whisk in flour and allow the roux to bubble for a few minutes stirring often until golden in color.

IMG_3976

Keep at it…. were almost there!

IMG_3981

Tada!

IMG_3982

Stir in peppers, onions, and garlic.

IMG_3987

Continue to cook over medium heat until tender and slightly brown, about 6 minutes.

IMG_3989

Slowly stir in milk….

IMG_3990

Then add the tomatoes!

IMG_3992

Make sure to stir everything well and that it is thoroughly heated before moving onto the next step.

IMG_3994

Are you ready???

IMG_3995

Adding only one handful at a time, slowly stir in cheese until melted and smooth!

IMG_3997

I also added a hefty dash of taco seasoning because I didn’t add any hot peppers so it gave it a bit of pizazz! Jazz fingers for queso dip, if you will.

IMG_3999

Just look at that….

IMG_4011

Enjoy and let me know what you all think!

IMG_4019

Leave a Reply

