Homemade Taco Seasoning

IMG_3924

As you all may or may not have noticed, I like to put together my own seasonings and rubs. I find that not only is it more thriftier, but it is also more convenient because you know how much you normally use within the time span of a month and make however much you need!

That being said, it came to my attention that I only have ONE crock pot/slow cooker meal on my whole blog so in a nutshell, I am slacking on my diversity once again and need to shake things up a bit! XD

I decided to make crock pot tacos and what goes hand in hand with tacos? You guessed it, TACO SEASONING!!!!! ::YAY:: I found this recipe from Rachel Cooks at http://www.rachelcooks.com/2013/03/25/homemade-taco-seasoning-large-batch/

IMG_3900

Ingredients

1/2 Cup + 2 Tbsp Chili Powder

2 1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

2 1/2 Tsp Onion Powder

2 1/2 Tsp Red Pepper Flakes

2 1/2 Tsp Oregano

2 1/2 Tsp Paprika

1/4 Cup + 1 Tbso Cumin

1/4 Cup Kosher Salt

1/4 Cup Ground Black Pepper

 

IMG_3903

Measure out all the seasonings then combine in a large bowl or measuring cup.

IMG_3901

I used my trusty electric hand blender to pulse the ingredients together, further breaking the larger pepper flakes and oregano down a bit.

IMG_3906

IMG_3909

Transfer to an air tight container and store up to 6 months.

IMG_3911

IMG_3913

IMG_3918

The author suggests that when using, add 2-3 Tbsp seasoning + 1/2 Cup water to ONE pound of cooked meat. Simmer over medium heat stirring frequently until very little liquid is left in the pan.

IMG_3922

Enjoy!

IMG_3921

One thought on “Homemade Taco Seasoning”

Leave a Reply

