Pulled Pork & Baked Beans

IMG_4481

This is something I made a few weeks back on a whim. I bought a nice sized Boston Butt Roast while grocery shopping and had it sitting in the freezer and figured it would be there for in a pinch when I decided I finally wanted to do a pulled pork. Well that time had come and to be honest, I used McCormick Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Seasoning and I am not sorry about it! It came out spectacular! I paired it with a quick baked beans recipe adapted from Southern Food located at  http://southernfood.about.com/od/drybeans/r/baked-beans-with-molasses-and-bacon.htm Let me tell you, this is PERFECT for those autumn days where you just want to cozy up inside and eat a nice hearty and simple meal that just feels like home.

IMG_4434

Ingredients (for baked beans)

2- 14.5oz Cans Black Beans, Red Beans, Navy Beans, etc.; which ever you have will be perfect I am sure

4 Thick Slices of Bacon; diced

1 Cup Onion; chopped

4 Tbsp Molasses

1/3 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Tsp Salt

1/4 Tsp Dried Mustard

1/4 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

Ingredients for Pulled Pork

3 Lb Boston Butt Roast

1 Pkg McCormick Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Seasoning

1/2 Cup Ketchup

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1/3 Cider Vinegar

IMG_4442

Initially you can used 1 Lb of dried beans, you just have to soak them the night before making this dish, hence why I used canned. I have a pantry stocked and it was a spur of the moment kind of thing. I took the roast out the night before then decided that morning I was making pulled pork.

IMG_4441

IMG_4436

Place your pork in the slow cooker and combine all the ingredients for the pulled pork together and pour over your roast. Cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hours or LOW for 8 hours.

Anyways, dice your onions and cook your bacon then dice that as well.

IMG_4440

Drain and rinse your beans (I know, I was not thinking about the whole plating with color in mind so please disregard the blinding yellow)

IMG_4447

Heat 1 Tbsp butter over medium high heat and saute the onions until tender and translucent.

IMG_4449

Just look at them… PERFECT!

IMG_4451

Pour the onions over the beans in a large baking dish…

IMG_4452

Combine molasses with mustard, salt, and pepper…

IMG_4438

My favorite brand of molasses if Brer Rabbit.

IMG_4456

Mix well.

IMG_4457

Then combine with bacon and beans.

IMG_4462

Toss well to coat.

IMG_4466

Bake at 325 for 2 1/2 – 3 hours or until bubbly.

IMG_4467

Shred the pork with two forks and combine well with the mixture in your slow cooker.

IMG_4468

IMG_4477

Grill up some buns slathered in butter on a skillet to toast…

IMG_4479

Then serve piled high with pulled pork and a side of the baked beans!

IMG_4489

Enjoy!

IMG_4490

Leave a Reply

