Mushroom Gravy

IMG_5534

I know, I know… Bad, bad, bad Sarah! I have been slacking so bad but the good news is I am still diligently taking pictures while making dinner so I am not sooooo behind, right??? Only semi-behind on my blog… right??? Eeek, no matter how I try to think about it, I am still pretty crappy at posting weekly so here it is. I am posting as many as I can tonight until one of two things happen… either my fingers fall off from speed typing, or I get to the point where I am typing with one eye open from my eyes crossing too much from the strain of staring at my laptop screen too long without blinking….

With out further ado…. Mushroom Gravy!!!! YAY!

This is a great way to sauce up any beef or steak dishes such as my Fried Round Steak and for this recipe, I found it at SouthernFood.About For the recipe straight from the source, just click on the link and it will redirect you to their site, for my pictures of the action feel free to continue on with this post!

IMG_5472

Ingredients

8 Oz Button or Baby Bell Mushrooms; sliced

1 Tbsp Butter

1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil; such as Terra Delyssa

1/2 Cup Dry Red Wine; I used Rex Goliath Cabernet Sauvignon

1 Cup Beef Broth

2 Tbsp Flour

3 Tbsp Cold Water

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 Tsp Dried Parsley

IMG_5476

Heat a large sautee pan over medium heat with olive oil & butter.

IMG_5477

Once the butter has melted and the oil is nice and hot, add the mushrooms and toss to coat.

IMG_5482

Continue to cook stirring occasionally until nice, tender, and starting to turn golden in color. About 5 minutes.

IMG_5486

IMG_5490

Next add the red wine and simmer another 3 minutes.

IMG_5491

Look at your mushrooms getting all sorts of happy!

IMG_5495

Once the wine has reduced a bit after the 3 minutes, stir in the beef broth.

IMG_5504

Allow to simmer another minutes or until reduced by half.

IMG_5511

IMG_5508

IMG_5506

Now we are going to make a thickening agent while the mushrooms and broth do their thing…

IMG_5485

Add your flour to the cold water and whisk well.

IMG_5487

Add to the mushroom sauce and combine well.

IMG_5516

Season with salt and pepper to taste and simmer another minute.

IMG_5519

Next stir in the parsley…

IMG_5520

And if you feel the gravy is too thick, add a bit more broth until it is to the desired consistency.

IMG_5522

This should make about 1 1/2 cup to 2 cups.

IMG_5530

Enjoy!

IMG_5534

Leave a Reply

