Chicken Bacon and Wild Rice Soup

IMG_7018

This beauty is a pin for a soup that I came across on Pinterest.  I must admit that I have a big habit of pinning recipes and not making them until weeks later. I can help it! There is so much to explore in that can of worms we love and know as Pinterest and it makes it hard to settle on one recipe to make for dinner that night! I dont know about you guys but when I log into my Majestical Pinterest Machine, it goes a little something like this:

Oooo I didnt take anything out of the freezer to thaw this morning before work…. what am I going to do??? Duuuuuh I will just go on the good and trusty Pinterest Machine and see what my friends are pinning! There always finding quick and easy recipes made up on pantry staples!

Awwww look at all the cats!!!!! CAT CAT CAT CAT CAT CAT CAT

OOooooooo “No effort” shower head cleaning tips… Ya I am pretty tired after work, and aint nobody got time so for that…. pfffft I dont even have time to read this “no effort tip” so I will pin this for later…. ::PIN::

LEMON CHICKEN! ::PIIIIIIIN:: (although this does me no good because mine is frozen)

Lemon sound like a good idea… let me put that in the search bar!

Creamy lemony pasta ::PIN:: Chicken France ::PIN:: Lemon and Brussel Sprout Pasta ::PIN:: ::PIN:: ::PIN:: ::PIN:: ::PIN ::PIIIIIIN:: ::PIIN:: ::PIN:: ::PIN::

Well you all get the point…. I go on a mad hunt for an idea for dinner and end up pinning about 2o different recipes among all the cats and tips and tricks along the way. Its a worm hole I tell you!!!!! I get sucked in ALL THE TIME!

Tell me I am am not alone in this! Lord please I must not be the only one!

:::PHEW BACK ON TRACK NOW::

This majestical beast was made by my newest favorite food blogger at Pinch of Yum. The original recipe can be found here.

I was so impressed with this soup and I have to confess that I made this back in November and have made it at least four times since then! It is very worth the work (which isn’t much at all) and I highly suggest everyone take a moment to click the links above and see what else Pinch of Yum has to offer!

IMG_6939

Ingredients

4 Cups Condensed Chicken Broth

2 Cups Water

1/2 Cup Uncooked Wild Rice

1/2 Cup Green Onions; Chopped finely

1/2 Cup Butter

3/4 Cup All-Purpose Flour

1/2 Tsp Kosher Salt

1/4 Tsp Poultry Seasoning

1/8 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

2 Cups Half & Half

1 1/2 Cup Cubed or Shredded Cooked Chicken or Turkey

8 Bacon Slices; Cooked & crumbled

1 Tbsp Pimiento (jarred red pimiento peppers); Chopped **

3 Tbsp Dry Sherry

IMG_6944

Thinly slice your green onions….

IMG_6948

And chop the pimientos. *I added 3 Tbsp because I love the flavor they add but the recipe only calls for 1 tbsp FYI*

IMG_6949

Measure out your wild rice and rinse under cool water.

IMG_6951

Cook and crumble up your bacon…. and try to refrain from eating it unless you cooked up extra (I will admit, I made myself and extra slice to munch on… come on…. its BACON)

IMG_6954

In a large sauce pan, combine chicken broth, water, wild rice, and green onions then bring to a boil.

IMG_6955

Once the pot is boiling reduce the heat to medium-low and cover, simmering for 30-45 minutes or until the rice is tender.

IMG_6958

Now the magic is starting to happen….

IMG_6959

When the rice good and done, there will be excess broth… DO NOT DRAIN….

IMG_6962

In a medium sauce pan, melt your butter over medium heat.

IMG_6963

Now we get to have fun making a seasoning/roux!

IMG_6964

Add the flour, salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning…

IMG_6967

Cook 1 minute stirring constantly for 1 minute…

IMG_6971

(Okay I had to switch from a wooden spoon to a whisk to help the roux be distributed and cook evenly) Slowly stir in the half & half with the butter/flour roux and cook until slightly thickened, stirring constantly.

IMG_6973

Add the creamy mixture to the wild rice/broth stirring well.

IMG_6976

Add the remaining chicken, bacon, pimiento, and sherry.

IMG_6978

Heat on low stirring occasionally for at least a half hour.

IMG_6984

I busted my majestical pup Sadie licking her chomps from the living room….

IMG_6983

She apparently had chicken on her mind… no worries, I am a sucker and gave her the extra chicken breast I didn’t need (don’t tell my roommate)

IMG_6982

Just turn the other way….

IMG_6988

To made the croutons, you will need;

1 Loaf of French Bread

Olive Oil (I use Terra Delyssa Extra Virgin)

Kosher Salt

IMG_6989

Slice your bread about a 1/2″ thick at an angle.

IMG_6991

Lay them out on a baking sheet.

IMG_6994

Lightly drizzle with olive oil.

IMG_6996

Then sprinkle with salt. You can add other seasonings if you would like.

Look at those little beauties….

IMG_7002

Broil on the top rack of your oven for a few minutes on each side until lightly toasted.

IMG_7007

IMG_7004

By now our soup should be nice and flavorful! If you would like it thicker or more flavorful, you can heat it longer. Remember the longer the soup heats, the more the flavors meld and the more the base thickens, so dont be afraid to let it go a little longer of you would like!

IMG_7013

I served mine up with a pinch of thinly sliced green onions sprinkled on top and….

IMG_7015

A large crouton floating on top…

IMG_7016

And let me just say, it was even better than it looks!

IMG_7019

And this dish is “Sadie Approved”… (she really really liked the chicken)

If you tried this dish, please sound off in the comments below! Also, there are a ton of other great recipes from the blog that this originally came from at Pinch of Yum!

IMG_6985

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

