Cajun Roasted Chicken Legs

IMG_3317

This is essentially a twist on The Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Roasted Chicken Legs, only I made it using my Homemade Cajun Seasoning rather than the spices Ree Drummond calls for. You can make this using any spices, as she states in her recipe… totally your call. Buuuut if your a Cajun junkie like myself… opportunity is knocking!!!!

I found this recipe after looking in my freezer, looking in my pantry, looking in my fruit bowls on the counter, then wistfully gazing into my freezer again to ensure I didnt miss anything, then my pantry again because we all know how them canned goods roll, then looked in my spice pantry…. well you get the gist. I had NO stinking clue what to make so I took out the drumsticks to thaw and figured I would wing it. Needless to say after Google-ing drumsticks I happened upon the Pioneer Woman’s blog and the rest is history!

IMG_3227

Phhhhew, after all that searching and decision making, its MARTINI TIME!

IMG_3232

Ingredients

6-8 Large Chicken Drumsticks

1 Stick of Butter

1 Tsp Homemade Cajun Creole Seasoning

1 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

1/2 Tsp Salt

1 Large Garlic Clove; smashed and minced

Juice of 1 Lemon

IMG_3237

Smash and mince your garlic like your life depends on it….

IMG_3240

Magic….

IMG_3244

Rinse and pat your chicken legs dry and set aside. See, easy prep!

IMG_3245

Now take a big sip and get your game face on after you preheat the oven to 400F.

IMG_3249

Melt butter over medium high heat like so….

IMG_3252

Ooooo its happening….

IMG_3256

Add your salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning to the butter…

IMG_3260

Squeeze in your lemon juice…

IMG_3262

Then give it a good stir!

IMG_3264

Try a bit of the seasoned butter before we move to the next step to ensure its to your liking…. if not then add more heat or whatever your big ol’ heart desires!

IMG_3270

Next, take each leg individually and give it a good dip into the butter bath. I dont know what else to call it so just roll with me on this one…

IMG_3272

Look at it go….

IMG_3273

Good dip….

IMG_3274

After each leg is coated in the butter mixture, line them up on a prepared foil lined baking sheet.

IMG_3287

Before placing them into the oven, give them a final coat with a pastry brush for a proper send off to the hot oven.

IMG_3312

Bake at 400F for 30 minutes or until cooked thoroughly basting half way threw with the pan drippings.

IMG_3314

Transfer to a platter and top with sliced green onions or whatever else you would like!

IMG_3330

Enjoy!

IMG_3332

Also if you make this or something like it using alternate spices, please be a dear and leave your two cents in the comments below!

IMG_3351

One thought on “Cajun Roasted Chicken Legs”

Leave a Reply

