Pesto + Fontina Panini

IMG_2685

Honestly… I have nights where I get home from work and could really just go for a sandwich. I know this is awful and you all should shun me right about now, but before we make any rash decisions think of it this way…. The shammish (sandwich in Sarah language- dont ask questions) I speak of is loaded with melted ooey-gooey fontina cheese and piled high with arugula, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, green onions, and basil. Now imagine this said shammish slathered in a ginormo heaping of pesto and then griddled in a panini press until all the above mentioned amazing-ness meld and become acquainted with one another…. Do you still feel like shunning me now?

Also do not judge the pictures of the final product to harshly… I was starving and did not care so much in regards to looks. Shame on me, I should have known I was going to post this. O.o

IMG_2639

 

Ingredients

Ciabatta Bread (I used Olive Oil + Roasted Garlic Ciabatta)

Prepared Pesto

Fontina Cheese; sliced

Fresh Arugula

Fresh Basil Leaves (optional)

Tomato; sliced

Fire Roasted Red Peppers; sliced

Green Onions; sliced

IMG_2656

First things first, unwrap that majestical gift from the angels above (otherwise known as Fontina Cheese) and slice it up into nice thick slabs.

IMG_2657

Boom. Try to refrain from eating them…. you want the ooey-gooey to exist in your panini so stay strong my friends…

IMG_2662

Generously slather both sides of your ciabatta bread with the prepared pesto.

IMG_2663

Dont be shy with it now! Also please dont mind my rusty pastry brush… the rust builds character?

IMG_2666

Now that your ciabatta is ncie and happy, pile on the cheese…

IMG_2667

Arugula…

IMG_2668

Basil…

IMG_2669

Tomatoes…

IMG_2671

Red peppers…

IMG_2672

Green onions…

IMG_2674

And the other half of your bread!

IMG_2677

Allow the cheese to melt and the ciabatta to toast in your panini maker for about 5 minutes then enjoy!

IMG_2681

As I stated previously, dont criticize my finished product pictures too harshly…

IMG_2682

It may not have looked pretty but it sure was tasty!

IMG_2683

One thought on “Pesto + Fontina Panini”

Leave a Reply

