Homemade Creamy Ginger Dressing

IMG_5797

This majestic little gem is something that I came up with off the top of my head after craving Kaizens Creamy Ginger Dressing. Every time I get a chance to go to Kaizen, not only do I jump on the opportunity but I make a BIG to-do over the occasion. I’m talking ordering a giant bottle of Saki, mass quantities of Beef Tataki, getting Hibachi Filet Mignon, more Saki, etc. You get the point. It doesn’t happen often but when it does, lots of amazing-ness ensues.

With that being said, no trip to Kaizen is complete without their creamy ginger dressing. I think that is why most people even go there. Don’t get me wrong, the sushi, food, drinks, and ambiance are all amazing… but this dressing though…

oh.my.gawd.

Mind you, this is my version. Its not as though they spread the recipe around for people like me to duplicate. With that being said, this is my best shot at it. Not only did I wing it… I THINK I nailed it… I think.

Either way, its amazing and I have to say I impressed not only myself, but my roommate Dave as well.

Also I eye-balled by measurements because I honestly thought it was going to be a flop and didn’t intend to post this recipe on the ol’ blog, but here we are!

IMG_5777

Ingredients
1 cup Mayo (or Greek yogurt would work)

4 tsp Ground Ginger (or more to taste)
1 Carrot; chopped
1 tbsp Soy Sauce
1/2 tsp Rice Vinegar

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until it’s creamy and smooth.

Try a bit and if you want more spice add more ginger or adjust whatever suits your taste.

If you like it a bit sweeter I would add 1tsp sugar then adjust from there.

And if you think it’s too thick just add a tbsp of water to thin it out a bit.

Chill for an hour and I would assume it should keep for a couple of weeks in a mason jar in the fridge.

  IMG_3032

I paired this with my Chinese Coca-Cola Chicken Wings and I am not sorry… It just added to the effect.

I think the next time I am going to make this with the wings AND attempt my hand at Beef Tataki. Just saying. And get a big ol’ bottle of chilled un-distilled Snow Maiden Saki…  Sorry I am not sorry!

One thought on “Homemade Creamy Ginger Dressing”

Leave a Reply

