Homemade Teriyaki Chicken Wings

IMG_6008

I am an addict. A wing addict to be more precise. I love making them, exploring different cooking methods, experimenting with different flavors, and just plain ol’ eating them. The best for me is when they are ooey-gooey and demand stacks of napkins. You know the kind I’m talking about… The wings that seem to have the sauces glazed over them and are baked for a few extra minutes to really seal it on there.

Pure magic.

Basically if you ever get on my bad side, just stick a plate of these majestical little wings in front of me and all is forgiven. I’m such a fat kid. Its okay, this is no secret and I have come to accept it over time.

IMG_6009

This particular recipe came called for pineapple juice. I had all of my ingredients out and was prepping when I opened my pantry to find NO CANS PINEAPPLE! That never happens, I always have pineapples here…. ALWAYS! Either way you slice it, shame on me for not noticing when I used the last and failing to put it on my grocery list. Bad bad Sarah!

With that being said, we all know that I can get a little craft… and crafty ensued!

Behold, Teriyaki Chicken wings without using pineapple juice! (and yes they were nothing short of amazing)

IMG_5949

Ingredients

1 Cup Soy Sauce

1/3 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Sesame Seed Oil

3 Cloves Garlic; minced

1 Tbsp Ground Ginger

1 Tbsp Chili Pepper; seeds removed and minced

2 Tbsp Canola Oil

Sesame Seeds

1 Green Onion; Chopped

1 Pkg Chicken Wings

IMG_5964

In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, brown sugar, sesame seed oil, garlic, ginger, and chili pepper.

IMG_5966

Whisk well and set aside.

IMG_5967

Rinse your wings and pat them dry. Pour the marinade over them and allow to marinate for at least an hour.

IMG_5971

Once the wings are all happy and stuff, heat the canola oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add the wings and reserve the marinade for later.

IMG_5988

Try not to splatter grease on yourself… that’s my shirt soaking in the sink. Thankfully Maxi Skirts are very versatile when paired with a belt. O.o

IMG_5990

Cook wings for 5 minutes on each side then pour the marinade into the pan. Cover and cook for another 10 minutes or until the wings are cooked thoroughly.

IMG_5999

Sprinkle with chopped green onions and a teaspoon of sesame seeds.

IMG_6002

And pile up on napkins!

IMG_6022

Ciao!

IMG_6023

2 thoughts on “Homemade Teriyaki Chicken Wings”

Leave a Reply

