Pasta Carbonara

IMG_6123

Can we have a moment…

I never had Pasta Carbonara before I made this dish. O.o

Is that weird?

Please tell me I am not alone in this! Either way, the fact that I had made it and loved it will hopefully redeem me in your hearts. Until then, I think I am kind of hooked on this recipe and it just might be my downfall. All these carbs can not possibly be good for you but the fact that I have an undying love for all things bacon, garlic, cheese, and pasta makes it just that much harder to resist!

Some day I will learn to just say no, but something tells me that it will play out a little like this….

“No pasta, I will not eat you… Goooooosh pasta, stop… I’m not going to do it! Pasta, stop being the devils food and maybe I will think about it…  Okay, okay… I’m sorry for all the hateful things I said to you, I love you pasta” …

Yes… apparently I talk to my food. O.o (kidding)

Enough rambling thoughts from meeeeee… on with goods…

IMG_6069

Ingredients

1 Lb Pasta

6-8 Slices of Bacon

4 Cloves Garlic; minced

2 Eggs

1 Cup Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

1/3 Cup Sliced Green Onions

Wine; to drink

IMG_6070

Now that we are all prepped, take a nice long sip of your wine and brace yourself for what is quite possibly one of the easiest pasta dishes known to (wo)man.

IMG_6073

Dice your bacon, mince your garlic, slice your green onions, grate your parmesan cheese, and crack them eggs open… we are going in…

::Dun dun dun::

IMG_6081

Bam…

IMG_6084

In a medium bowl, combine your parmesan cheese with your eggs and whisk well.

IMG_6088

It looks gross but lets just put those feelings on the back burner for now… your taste buds will greatly appreciate this.

IMG_6091

Cook your pasta according to the package for al dente. (6-8 minutes in salted boiling water).

IMG_6094

Reserve about a cup of the pasta water for later… you may need it if your pasta is a little dry.

IMG_6092

Cook bacon over medium-low heat until nice and crisp. This should only take 5-6 minutes but be careful not to over cook otherwise it will give the whole dish a burnt taste O.o No bueno.

IMG_6093

And things are coming together…

IMG_6096

Its like a skillet full of greasy magic! Scoop out the cooked bacon with a slotted spoon but leave the fat in the skillet… were not done with it just yet!

IMG_6098

Add garlic to the skillet with the reserved drippings and saute over low heat for 1-2 minutes, or until soft and fragrant (but be careful not to brown)

IMG_6102

Next we are going to toss the cooked pasta with the egg and parmesan mixture.

IMG_6107

Add your garlic and cooked bacon then toss well. This is the time when if you notice your pasta is a bit dry, add a bit of the reserved pasta water a little at a time to your liking.

IMG_6116

Top with green onions and some more fresh grated parmesan cheese then serve with a fresh crusty loaf of bread…

IMG_6116

Don’t judge our love for carbs…

IMG_6122

Enjoy! 

One thought on “Pasta Carbonara”

Leave a Reply

