Brown Sugar + Dijon Roasted Drumsticks

IMG_7668

Honestly these are the most majestic chicken drummers I’ve ever made! It was just a pinch of this, handful of that, oh crap that’s awful… Let me add some of this ordeal… Then out comes this sex on a stick!
I am constantly on the hunt for new and savory recipes for chicken and it gets harder and harder to sift thru all the recipes out there! I want something that is going to be ooey, something that will be gooey, something that will incorporate all of my favorite herbs, something that will incorporate loads of garlic, yet something that is so savory that it is sure to knock my socks off!
Well, knock my socks it did! Not only did it knock my socks off, it had me begging for more! It was the perfect balance of sweet, savory, zesty, and had the most subtle hint of fresh thyme and rosemary! In other words…. my statement still stands… Sex on a stick…

IMG_7546

Ingredients

8-10 Chicken Drumsticks

1/2 Cup Butter

1/2 Cup Dijon Mustard

1 Tbsp Chopped Thyme

1 Tbsp Chopped Rosemary

4-5 Garlic Cloves; minced

2 Tbsp Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

Salt + Pepper

IMG_7554

Preheat your oven to 425F then prep your thyme and rosemary by removing the stems.

IMG_7558

Then mince the herbs nice and finely.

IMG_7571

Smash and mince your garlic.

IMG_7575

And would you look at that…. [magic]

IMG_7577

Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium heat.

IMG_7590

Add garlic and herbs then allow to simmer until fragrant (2-3 minutes) then remove from heat.

IMG_7592

Whisk in brown sugar and Dijon mustard…

IMG_7598

Then whisk in Worcestershire sauce and we are ready to get to business!

IMG_7627

Reserve 3 Tbsp of the butter mixture for later…

IMG_7608

Then pour the remaining butter over your drumsticks.

IMG_7616

Get your hands dirty and give then a good rub down…

IMG_7623

Arrange on a cooling rack over a baking sheet so that the heat is allowed to pass under the little drumsticks while in the oven. Trust me when I say this is the key to amazing roasted chicken pieces!

IMG_7631

Sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper then bake in the oven for 40 minutes.

IMG_7646

Using a pastry or BBQ brush (like my seasoned and rusty veteran of a brush) give them a good slather of your reserved butter mixture. Don’t be afraid to really glop it on there, it adds character (maybe).

IMG_7658

Return your little drummers to the oven for another 5-10 minutes or until nice and golden in color and the internal temp reaches 185F. Do not stop before!

IMG_7666

Arrange your drumsticks on a platter and scatter with leftover thyme or rosemary sprigs for a nice touch. We do what we want, even if its just you and your dog it adds to the experience!

IMG_7688

Serve along with rice, green beans, roasted or mashed potatoes, etc… whatever your little heart desires! Oooo I’ll bet that caramelized carrots would go perfect with these little majestical beings!

IMG_7687

Thanks for checking back and I hope you all enjoy!

IMG_7689

PS embrace your inner fat kid in moderation… CIAO!

IMG_7675

5 thoughts on “Brown Sugar + Dijon Roasted Drumsticks”

  1. Please let me know what you think! They really are the best that I have made to date but it does not mean I am going to stop searching high and low! I am always blown away with what others have come up with so hopefully I will have more to share soon! xo

Leave a Reply

