Brown Butter Garlic + Sage Fettuccine

IMG_8167

I am not ashamed to say that I have a slight obsession with brown butter sauces lately. When you melt your butter over the stove and it starts to turn golden in color and forms a nutty aroma and flavor… that’s exactly what I dream about! Its like buttered pasta on steroids! It turns even your most boring pasta dishes into a perfect and impressive fall/winter comfort food. Hey, you can even add some minced fresh sage to kick it up a notch! Brown butter and sage goes hand in hand! Oh and dont get me started about adding fresh minced garlic into the mix… that’s when all bets are off and I morph into my spirit animal (Paula Dean) and shit gets real!

But really, I have such an obsession with it that I even make brown butter and garlic popcorn. I know, I know… it sounds so weird and I know you dont want to admit this part… but intriguing as well. Don’t be ashamed… Embrace your inner brown butter she-rah voodoo princess… I wont judge you so long as you dont judge me…

This is a little gem that I came across on [you guessed it] Le Pinterest Machine. All credit is due to this majestical little site called Fork Knife Swoon, and swoon I did! As you will see, I did change a few things here and there but that is due to me not having exactly what was in the original recipe. It still came out beautifully rich and nutty so feel free to try this version or the original by clicking the link to check them out. I promise you will not be disappointed!

IMG_8110

 

Ingredients

1 Lb Fettuccine; cooked al dente

11 Tbsp Salted Butter

2 Tbsp Fresh Garlic, minced

2 Tbsp Fresh Sage; minced

1 Tbsp Fresh Thyme

1 Tbsp Fresh Parsley; minced

3/4 Cup Italian Bread Crumbs

1/8 Tsp Ground Nutmeg

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

1/2 Cup Parmesan Cheese; freshly grated

IMG_8114

Cook pasta according to directions on the package for al dente.

Melt 3 Tbsp butter in a saute pan over medium heat.

IMG_8118

Once the butter is all happy and melted, add your bread crumbs, thyme, parsley, and nutmeg. Combine well and toast about 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally until they are all nice and golden.

IMG_8120

Pffft, magic. Once they are done, transfer your toasted bread crumbs to into a small bowl and set aside. Wipe your pan (carefully) with a paper towel and return to the stove top.

IMG_8121

Add remaining 8 tablespoons of butter to the saute pan and melt over medium high heat.

IMG_8127

When your butter begins to foam, start whisking away!

IMG_8131

Keep whisking!!!!

IMG_8139

Then when the butter starts to turn slightly golden, toss in your garlic and sage and continue to whisk constantly.

IMG_8145

When the butter is a nice deep golden in color, remove the skillet from the burner and continue to whisk for another minute or so.

IMG_8151

Now you can officially rest your arm! YAY!

IMG_8154

Add your cooked fettuccine to the pan then sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss well to coat evenly.

IMG_8158

Doesn’t it look magical? Well brace yourself, it gets even better!

IMG_8159

Sprinkle your toasted bread crumbs over the pasta and serve with a generous dusting of parmesan cheese.

IMG_8170

I have to say, I am a glutton for brown butter and after making this dish, it is now a regular in my rotation!

IMG_8169

So here’s to being gluttonous brown butter addicts and relishing in our nutty-buttery goodness together!

IMG_8168

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

