Baked Frico (Crispy Cheese)

 

 

IMG_8857

Everyone has those days where you just want to eat the most unhealthiest thing you can. I dont care who you are. I know it happens, and I am not the only one. That is not to say that everyone caves like I do, but we all still salivate over just the mere thought of the most magical gooey or crispy, cheesy, salty, magical snack possible. Were not all perfect, we feel things (namely we all feel cravings).

Well with that being said, I caved…

Well I more than caved…

I fell straight into the bottomless pit and somehow landed right into the river Styx. For what felt like and eternity I was wagering a war with the devil over weather or not I should make this salty, crispy, magical creation and after forcing my hand, I somehow landed back into the realm of the living and set on the path of doing the devils work….

And by the devils work, I mean introducing those of you who dont already know about this sinful yet delectable little morsel, to the seed of Satan. There I said it… proceed with caution…

Just kidding, I am sorry if I offended anyone but honestly this snack is truly a sin….

And it only needs 2 ingredients…

Your cheese and your spice!

Think of all of the possibilities! I am talking garlic and parmesan, cumin and montry jack, cheddar and [dare I say it] bacon bits, etc! The cheese world is your oyster! Just be sure that the cheese is FINELY shredded or grated otherwise it will not work so well.

IMG_8855

Ingredients

3 Cups of Finely Shredded or Grated Hard Cheese; Montry Jack, Cheddar, Parmesan, etc.

1 Tsp Ground Cumin; or any other spice you like in its place

 

Preheat the oven to 375F.

IMG_8850

Combine the shredded cheese and spice of choice in a large bowl and mix to combine evenly.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. (you can see I did not do this step, if you skip it like I did, its going to be pretty interesting getting them off the baking sheet so… DO AS I SAY AND NOT AS I DO)

Form 1 inch balls (much like a golf ball) and place them on the baking sheet 3 inches apart from one another.

Carefully spread each ball on the baking sheet into a nice 2-3 inch circle. This will give each cheese crisp a beautiful lacy look.

Bake in the oven 5-6 minutes then promptly remove from the oven and pop off the parchment paper.

You can drape them over a rolling pin like I did to get the curve or just lay them flat on a cooling rack.

And now for the best part…

Enjoy your gluttonous journey!

IMG_8856

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Baked Frico (Crispy Cheese)”

  1. Back when I was a grill cook at Friendly’s there was a burger on the menu with one of these on top. Put them on a burger is what I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

