Venison Bacon + Pineapple Bites

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (56)

This is a little something for all you hunters and ladies with hunter spouses… Its something quite majestic and something that is very easily executed. That alone is a game winner… Not only that, but I love how this can be an appetizer for the big game or easily a dinner served along side steamed rice with crispy fried scallions on top! Either way, it is not only impressive, but this method also takes away any gaminess that the venison may have! Most people who dont eat it say its because of the gamey taste the meat has… This is no longer an excuse. I dont know if its because the recipe compliments it, or just hide it so well but let me tell you, it is something magical…

Take it from me, I could never bring myself to eat venison… I dont know what happened but something either my father or one of my uncles must have said when I was a little girl at my Pepere’s house warned me off from it. And honestly it was probably something along the lines of “Surprise, your eating Bambie!” or maybe when they tricked my sister and I into eating bear stew [I still dont know if that was a joke or was really what we were eating]… All I know is that I was a very impressionable kid and the rest was history.

And this is why I had to brace myself with this little gem…

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (30)

Le Pepe Nero helps me with my case of the feels…

I will say though, once I finished making these sweet sweet little gifts from the angels above, it was as if the heavens opened up and the choir started singing me the songs of which angles weep in pure joy to. It was an epiphany of sorts really. On one hand, these little guys were the most juicy, clean, lean, fresh, and delicious form of steak that I have ever consumed! I mean, it seriously MELTED! IT FREAKING MELTED IN MY MOUTH! I couldn’t believe that I once thought Filet Mignon to be the creme de la creme of all things steak… No…. venison now hold that title for me.

But then on the other hand… I could believe that I had thought these sinful thoughts and betrayed my little deer friends from my woods here in the sticks! I mean, how dare I! They are so quiet, and majestic, and graceful… I love them with all of my being! Why must nature be so cruel! Needless to say, I am crazy for 1… and I love venison for 2… AND I am a traitor to my little majestic critters in the woods for 3!

Oh and I cried because of the pure mental anguish this has brought upon me. (Sadly I am not kidding)

[Sorry for the therapy session]

Thanks dad!

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (77)

Venison Marinade

6 Oz Pineapple Juice

1 1/2 Cup Extra Version Olive Oil

1/8 Tsp Cider Vinegar

1/8 Tsp Water

1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

2 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1/4 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Tsp Garlic Powder

1 Tbsp Season Salt

1/2 Tsp Kosher Salt

Venison Bites

4 Venison Steaks; cut into 1″ cubes and marinated in the above for 3-5 hours.

1 Lb Bacon; cut in half

1/4 Cup Pineapple Juice

1 Can Pineapple Chunks

1/4 Brown Sugar

4 Scallions (green onions); sliced thinly

1/2 Cup Canola Oil

Toothpicks

 

In the case that you get the feels…. keep a nice strong drink within reach… dont judge me…

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (31)

After you have had your venison cubes marinating in its happy juice… discard the marinade and lay them out on some paper towels to absorb the excess juices. Combine 1/4 cup pineapple juice and 1/4 cup brown sugar and set aside.

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (12)

Create an assembly line of bacon, pineapple, pineapple-brown sugar glaze, venison, toothpicks, and drink!

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (23)

Next using your tried + true rusty BBQ brush, coat one side of the bacon strips before wrapping to ensure their happiness. Once that is settled, place a piece of venison and pineapple in the center of the bacon strip and wrap it up securing with a toothpick.

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (26)

Lay your little soldiers out on a greased broiling pan. Scatter any remaining pineapple chunks about the pan because, waste not – want not!

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (45)

Broil them on the top rack at high for 4 minutes then flip. Broil another 4-5 minutes or until rare to medium-rare and the bacon is nice and crispy. Whichever is more to your liking. Just be careful not to over cook these little guys.. they were once majestic creatures of the forest and should not die in vain! [that should have been read with the voice of Braveheart]

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (34)

Next, heat up the canola oil in a skillet and toss in your sliced scallions. Cook for 1-2 minutes over high heat until nice and crispy. Remove from oil IMMEDIATELY to stop it from cooking and allow to drain the excess oil over some paper towels.

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (39)

[side note, if you have yet to have crispy scallions… you will now want them on just about anything]

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (54)

Plate your majestic Venison Bacon + Pineapple Bites and scatter the extra pineapples about the plate. Top with crispy scallions and enjoy!

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (55)

I want to thank Sweet Baby Jesus for allowing this deer a lovely and peaceful life filled with frolicking and majestic-ness and hopefully she went down easy… [clearly I am still struggling with this]

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (56)

CIAO!

Venison Bacon + Pinapple Bites (77)

 

One thought on “Venison Bacon + Pineapple Bites”

Leave a Reply

