Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings

 

Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings (9)

Its no secret I love wings… the messier the better! While I have posted many different recipes such as Homemade Honey Mustard Barbecue Wings, Homemade Teriyaki Chicken Wings and Chinese Coca-Cola Wings, this is one I have been dying to try! While I dont like many spicy things, I am starting to see the light… and maybe with a little encouragement and some small baby steps I will be able to dabble in the land of Sriracha and Jalapenos more often!

Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings

First order of business though is to crack open a nice and refreshing craft beer. You might need it to extinguish the flames if your anything like me. Honestly, one time I went to Buffalo Wild Wings with my sister and I got their Garlic Parmesan Wings… let me tell you I was burning up! That is the only thing on the menu that is not spicy, but here I am sitting at the table nearly reduced to tears while my sister has the time of her life laughing it up at me.

No big deal.

But with that being said, I am starting to ween my way into the land of fiery sriracha spiciness. Baby steps my friends, baby steps. Mind you this recipe is not as spicy as it sounds when I talk about it. I am not a normal person though, clearly, so the littlest spice is a lot for me.

Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings (2)

Ingredients

3 Lbs Chicken Wings

1/2 Cup Coconut Oil (or any frying oil of your preference)

1/2 Cup Flour

Salt + Pepper

1/3 Cup Sriracha

1/2 Cup Katchup

1/3 Cup Soy Sauce

3 Tbsp Honey

1 Tbsp Sesame Oil

8 Garlic Cloves; minced

Cilantro; minced

Sesame Seeds

Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings (3)

Combine sriracha, ketchup, soy sauce, honey, sesame oil, and garlic then set aside.

Rinse and pat your wings dry.

In a small bowl combine four, salt, and pepper then pour over wings tossing well to coat.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat until a pinch of flour sizzles when dropped in the pan.

Add wings in batches to avoid over crowding.

Cook 3-5 minutes each side until nice, crispy, and golden in color.

Set aside on paper towels or a cooling rack over a baking sheet so that they oil can drip away.

Continue working in batches until all the wings are nice and crispy.

Using the same skillet, combine the sriracha mixture to the hot oil and whisk well.

Add all the chicken back to the pan with the sauce, then cover and reduce to a simmer.

Allow to cook about 10 minutes then remove cover and and stir.

Cook another 10-15 minutes uncovered cooked thoroughly.

Then finally plate and sprinkled with chopped cilantro and sesame seeds!

Crispy Honey + Sriracha Wings (6)

Sorry for lack of pictures but I didn’t intend to put this on the good ole’ blog… but with that being said, I hope you all try it and embrace the fiery goodness!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

