Egg Drop Soup

Egg Drop Soup (43)

 

What seems like eons ago, a big group of us went to this amazing hibachi joint called Goten of Japan for my birthday. This was only my second visit to Goten but will go down as the most memorable one thus far. I am talking great friends, family, cocktails, shrimp being tossed at your faces, saki in great abundance, oh.. I must not forget… the amazing hibachi chef who doubled as our entertainment for the night! If you have ever gone out for hibachi, you know all the tricks they have up their sleeves. It’s as if they are trained in comedy, food art, and pyrotechnics! Simply amazing!

Amy and I 2010

Ugh, I went digging for pictures from Goten and realized this was in 2010…. time is flying and never ceases to make me feel old!

Anyways, the point of this is that when you order your hibachi, they start you off with a house salad with ginger dressing as well as a Japanese Onion Soup. Now I dont know if you have every had it, but it is like sweet sweet angel tears in a bowl! It is the most majestic soup I have had to date and I needed it in the worse way a bit ago. My problem was that I didn’t know what it was called, only that it had lots of onions and was the mac daddy of all things holy.

I went on a Google adventure and thought I found this delectable little bowl of happiness but was mistaken. What I actually found was Egg Drop Soup… Not Japanese Clear Onion Soup. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t upset in the least! It just wasn’t what we had at the all holy Goten of Japan. When I speak of happy accidents, this is exactly what I mean. Although it wasn’t what I thought it was, it was equally as amazing and has become a regular staple in my house hold! Happy Happy!

Now that I remissness as to how I ended up making this little gem, it reminds me that I have yet to make the Japanese Clear Onion Soup… That will have to be my next excursion!

Egg Drop Soup (2)

Ingredients

5 Cups Chicken Broth; can be canned, homemade, or bullion cubes, just be sure its your favorite

3 Large Eggs

1 Bunch Scallions (green onions); sliced

White Pepper

Sesame Oil

 

Egg Drop Soup (8)

Whisk your eggs well.

Egg Drop Soup (19)

Slice up your scallions.

Egg Drop Soup (10)

And that’s all the prep you need. Easy, right?

Egg Drop Soup (20)

Bring your broth to a boil over high heat then remove from burner.

Egg Drop Soup (25)

Stir your broth while pouring the eggs in slowly, creating ribbons of egg “noodles”.

Egg Drop Soup (42)

Stir in scallions, a pinch of white pepper, and a few drops of sesame oil.

Be careful with the sesame oil because it is very strong and the tiniest amount will go a long way!

Just add a bit, stir, taste… then add more if needed!

(Also be sure you do use sesame oil because its what gives this soup its distinct taste)

Egg Drop Soup (33)

Side note: After trying a few different kinds, Ka-Me is my favorite for Sesame Oil. I use the “Blend” as opposed to the “Pure Sesame Oil” so that it is a bit more universal and can be used as an “every day cooking oil”.

Egg Drop Soup (49)

I hope you get the chance to try this recipe out, it is the easiest and only takes a total of 15 minutes start to finish!

Its also very versatile so you can adjust as needed adding corn, mushrooms, etc. or even omitting scallions and going a different rout entirely!

Egg Drop Soup (51)

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

